Early Casting: A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE HBO Series

I know we generally write reviews of things on this site, but I just found out about some absolutely exquisite casting for an upcoming fantasy project.  As such, I will deviate away from my usual ranting and raving into the world of heightened anticipation.

 The series A Song of Ice and Fire by American novelist George R. R. Martin altered my perception of literature.  Not since Lord of the Rings had a book impacted my personal tastes and goals as an aspiring fantasy writer, and the book I’ve been working on sporadically for two or so years owes a great deal to Martin.  The world Martin creates is dark and foreboding, medieval, gritty, but extraordinarily compelling and entirely original.

 For some time, HBO has owned the rights to ASOIAF but little to no casting has been revealed.  Today, we finally have a first slew of actors cast in the production, which starts filming in October.  Reactions begin NOW…

 Boromir

Sean Bean as Eddard Stark:  Sean Bean is one of the most underrated actors working today.  He has this uncanny ability to gain genuine sympathy for every character he portrays, from IRA terrorists to broadsword-wielding Gondorian warriors.  His Odysseus was amongst the most memorable characters in Wolfgang Peterson’s Troy.  His casting as the noble, Arthurian tragic hero Ned Stark is as perfect as one could desire.

 PeterDinklage

Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister:  Dinklage has had memorable bit parts in countless films.  I loved him as the grumpy dwarf in Prince Caspian.  His casting as the lusty, scheming, vulgar Tyrion Lannister should fit like a glove.  I just hope he looks good with a blonde wig.

 markaddy

Mark Addy as King Robert Baratheon: I haven’t seen much of Mark Addy, but from the few clips I’ve seen of him on YouTube, he has a decent “battlefield voice” and quite an impressive screen presence.

 Kit Harrington as Jon Snow:  Harrington is a young actor of the British stage.  That’s where his experience lies.  I’m glad they went with a relatively unknown actor for Jon Snow, who is hands down my favorite character in ASOIAF aside from Ned.

 hlloyd

Harry Lloyd as Viserys Targaryen:  I need to ask those friends of mine who watch the Robin Hood BBC series about Harry Lloyd, who portrays Will Scarlet.  He has the look of Viserys, and from the few YouTube clips I’ve watched, he seems to have acting chops as well.

 jgleeson

Jack Gleeson as Joffrey Lannister:  Jack Gleeson was the little slum boy in Batman Begins that Batman gives his binoculars to.  He was quite good in Begins, and that was 4 years ago!  Hopefully he can play rich, spoiled, snotty and arrogant.

 

So there you have it.  My early appraisal of the A Song of Ice and Fire: A Game of Thrones casting.  I’m extremely excited about the series.  Too bad I don’t have HBO right now.

Note: I do not own the pictures used on this page.  Should any agency or representative wish me to remove said pictures, simply comment or contact me via one of the methods provided on my “About” page.  Thank you.

2 Responses to “Early Casting: A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE HBO Series”

  1. Harry Lloyd – Will Scarlett (Robin Hood) – His character portrayal is meant to be funny and entertaining – although I’d like to see him in a more serious role.

  2. Dave B. Says:

    Awesome, thanks Aly. Yeah, Viserys is anything but funny and entertaining…he’s an insane, wicked, banished, overthrown king who attempts to sell his princess sister into slavery.

Leave a Reply

